close
close

topicnews · July 17, 2025

Rare Caddy mistake leads to a “terrible” break at the Open Championship

Rare Caddy mistake leads to a “terrible” break at the Open Championship


A rare Caddy mistake – and the recent political change – led to a “terrible” break for Tommy Fleetwood in the first round of the open championship on Thursday in Royal Portrush in Northern Ireland.

Fleetwood, a favorite this week, was opened with three pars in a row and was with the Par-4 4.. Then he drove into a pot bunker that was on the Par-4 5 .. about 20 meters in front of the green. Then the show got in with Fleetwood and the On Course reporter Jim “Bones” Mackay, who passed on what he saw from the bunker.

“I'm not sure if I've seen it at a professional golf event,” said Mackay. “Anyone who previously played from this bunker did the caddy.

Open Championship Policy Change Bites Fleetwood

While such a mistake falls on the player's caddy, who was previously in the bunker, timing is ironic and may explain why Caddy culprit made the gaffe.

For decades, R&A has been stationing a proven “bunker raker” in every group of the open championship. These volunteers, which most of them superintendents in local golf courses, take off the players' caddies and help to accelerate the game.

This year, however, R&A has removed this guideline – Caddies have to enforce their own bunkers, just like everywhere else.

“It's a change for us, but we think a good one,” said New R&A boss Mark Darbon on Wednesday. Asked to approach them WhyHe said: “A number of factors. We only think that it is a good model for us here at Portrush.”

Fair enough.

This brings us to Thursday and Fleetwood's second shot in the bunker. When he arrived to the ball, he was not delighted.

“For F-sake, man,” said the normally mild man-seeed fleetwood, which was caught in the world feed show. “F-!”

The lie actually did not look like what the show showed to Evil, although the problem might be more with Fleetwood's attitude that was closer to the area previously stepped with feet. Regardless of the fact that Fleetwood's reaction and the comment by Mackay, one of the most respected caddies in the game, and someone who got an expensive look could be all evidence that we need.

Tommy Fleetwood will play his second shot from a bunker in the 5th hole in Royal Portrush on Thursday.

TNT network

“What a break for Tommy,” said Paul McGinley in the TNT show. “I don't know what the rule for R&A is, but Caddy would get a big fine on the DP World Tour.”

Fleetwood's second shot hit the bunker's lip and barely cleared. From there he threw the hole over and had 33 feet for par.

“After what he went through in this hole, you can root a little for Tommy a little to get it up and running,” said Mackay when Fleetwood set up the putt. “Just a terrible break, one of the worst that I saw for him all year round.”

Fleetwood missed and cleared a 2-foot fighter for Bogey, his second episode.

Although nothing was confirmed on the open website according to ShotView, the last person in this bunker was before Fleetwood was the English amateur Sebastian Cave, who had hit his tee into the bunker about two hours earlier.

“Obviously it was not on purpose, it was a mistake for the caddy,” said McGinley. “But it is still something that the DP World Tour is very strong.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1dotlxfyau

“>