close
close

topicnews · July 18, 2025

British Open: Shane Lowry puzzles in the middle of the golf ruler?

British Open: Shane Lowry puzzles in the middle of the golf ruler?


Did Shane Lowry move his ball?

This is the question that remained unanswered immediately after Lowry's ball moved so easily after a practice swing in his second shot on No. 11. Look at yourself:

Lowry doesn't seem to know that his ball has moved, and the only reason why someone saw this is the technology. If it is found that Lowry moved the ball, this would lead to a 1-stroke penalty.

Advertising

A R&A rules that was a civil servant was not sure whether it was indeed Lowry, who moved the ball or whether he was moving by itself, and how can you determine this with a certain 100 percent?

Does it look like Lowry has moved the ball? Probably. But can someone say that with absolute certainty?

From now on, Lowry was cardiacing a Bogey 5 on the hole. That has him for the tournament at -1 … for the time being.

Will he be rated a punishment? That still has to be determined.

When Lowry went up the 15th Fairway, R&A informed him about the situation and told him that they would wait until the end of his round to see the footage with him and then make a determination.